The temple was being built since 1826 to 1850 according to the plan of the architect Ageyev, created in 1725.
On the first floor of the temple there is the altar named after the Intercession of the Theotokos, consecrated on the 11th of November 1828. On the second floor there is the altar named after the Ascension, consecrated on the 28th of May 1850. There were two more altars: in the refectory of the first floor – the altar named after Saint Nicholas, and in the refectory of the second floor – the altar named after Paul the Apostle and Peter the Apostle.
The picturesque paintings on the walls and the columns are well-preserved in the temple. The temple doesn’t work anymore.