It is a stone two-storey temple with five domes and the hipped bell-tower. The Candlemas altar is the main one. The aisles: on the ground floor (warm) Nikolskiy and Panteleymonovskiy on the upper floor(cold) Petropavlovskiy of Peter Aphonskiy and Onuphriy Aphonskiy.
In 1808 the stone Candlemas church was founded and was consecrated in 1827, the building was fully finished 70 years later in 1878.
There are six altars in the church, which were transported here from the former destroyed temples. The main Candlemas altar is situated on the ground floor. The altar of Saint Nicholas is situated near this altar in the south. On the upper floor of the Candlemas church there are three more altars: named after martyrs Flor and Lavr, named after Saint Peter and Saint Paul and named after Saint Onuphriy and Saint Peter Aphonskiy.
The building of the stone hipped bell tower was finished in 1854, in 1896 in the church’s refectory the altar named after the martyr Panteleymon was attached.
The magnificent ringing of the big church bell moulded in 1875 which weighs 3360 kg could be heard even in Arkhangelsk. However in the beginning of the 1930s the Bolsheviks dropped it down and melted it down.
The Candlemas Church consists of three parts: the senny with the bell tower on the top, the refectory and the church, which is decorated with the portico with the columns which belong to the late classicism, but not with the traditional altar apse. The church is decorated with five domes belonging to the 17th century architecture.
The building materials were brought by barges along the river Zaostrovka.
At the expenses of Andrey Alekseevich Chistikov, the rich peasant and patron, there was installed a new iconostasis on the ground floor. That was he who found and payed the capital workers who painted the walls and the upper vaults of The Candlemas Church.
The Candlemas Church is one of the 200 churches in the country which was never closed during the Soviet period, though it was not easy for the parish.