The blessed letter by Afanasiy, the archbishop of Kholmogory and Vaga, was given for the church building on the 20th of December 1700.
In the church description it was mentioned that this is the second church built in the previous church place.
There were also mentioned two building dates – 1700 (the year when the blessed letter for the church building was given) and 1763 (the year when the church was consecrated).
The archive materials allow to clarify the date when the building of the Hodegetria Church finished – 1709. This is the year when the earliest documents about the Kimzha church, which can be found in the State archive of the Arkhangelsk region, were published.
Now (2014) the church is under the restoration.
Since 1968 the church has been the monument of architecture of federal level.
The church was preserved till nowadays due to the distant location of the Kimzha village and the help of the villagers. According to them, the elderly people who lived in the village guarded the church in turns, day and night, and didn’t allow to transform it into a commercial building in the Soviet times.
The church is situated in the centre of the village and can be easily seen from any place.