The monastery was founded in 1606 by the reverend Makariy Krasnogorskiy and was called the Chernogorskiy monastery until 1630s.The monastery got its name “Krasnogorskiy” because of the beautiful view from the hill.
Knyaz Vasiliy Vasilyevich Golitsin, who was exiled to Pinega, especially liked to visit the Krasnogorskiy monastery. Knyaz Golitsin died on the 21st of April 1714 and was buried in this monastery. The tomb is situated “in the south a couple of arshins from the church, covered by the small gravestone”.
In 1920 The Krasnogorskiy Monastery was ravaged and closed. The books and the church utensils, belonging to the monastery, suffered the same fate. The fate of two monastery icons - The Georgian and the Vladimirskaya – is unknown. In the monastery there was a commune, then the holiday camp for children. Until the 1990s there was the psycho-neurological boarding house in the monastery’s building. A couple of frescos preserved in the church.