Until the middle of the 18th century the settlement consisted of two villages- Denisovka and Mishaninskaya. In 1726-1765 the stone Dmitrievskaya Church was built, and the locality became a settlement. The settlement got its new name in 1911 when the 200 anniversary of its famous citizen M.V. Lomonosov’s was celebrated. Since 2006 to 2014 Lomonosovo was the administrative centre of the Lomonosovskiy rural settlement. Now the Lomonosovo settlement is included into the municipality “Kholmogorskoye”.
In the settlement there is the monument to M.V.Lomonosov, the historical-memorial museum to M.V.Lomonosov, the church of Dmitriy Solunskiy, the library, the Culture House, the café and the school. The settlement is known as the motherland of the northern craft – the Kholmogory bone carving. Nowadays the college #27 named after Butorin teachers the students the skills of the Kholmogory bone carving, holds workshops (by the prior request).
The phone number of the Head of the municipality “Kholmogorskoye “ is 34-158, the museum’s phone number is 37006.The actual timetable of the ferry crossing can be found on the site of the administration of the municipality “Kholmogorskiy municipal district”.
By car or by bus to Kholmogory, then by ferry to the Lomonosovo settlement.