On the 27th of May 1904 the stone Protection of the Holy Mary Church was laid in the Shetogorskiy parish with the participation of John of Kronstadt. The church was built with funding of the local peasant Severyan Kozmin Kyrkalov.
The building was completed in 1909 and the church was consecrated by the Right Reverend Archbishop of the Arkhangelsk Ecclesiastical Consistory. The church resembles the cathedral of knyaz Vladimir in Kiev very much.
1.By train from Arkhangelsk to Karpogory, then by taxi (about 10 km) to the Shotov village.
2.By car from Arkhangelsk to the Shotov village (about 8-10 hours).