The museum’s story started in 1905, now it is situated in the Transfiguration Cathedral.
There are now the following expositions in the museum:
The nature department the Vychegodskiy district in Russian history
The district in the 17th-18th centuries
The district in the 19th-20th centuries
The establishment of the Soviet Power
The Civil War of the 1917-1920
The establishment of the Lenskiy district
Agriculture and wood-processing industry in 1924-1940
The district organization of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union
The district organization of the Komsomol
The Lenskiy district during the WWII 1941-1945
Up the stairs of the five-year plans. 1946-1990
Wood-processing industry. 1946-1990
Folk education. 1946-2000
The Yarensk village history
Temporary exhibitions are often organized in the museum.
Moreover, the visitors can climb on the bell tower of the cathedral, see the hall of the cathedral under the restoration and the wooden George chapel built in 1889, which was transported to the museum from the Mikshina Gora village.